Application for Rhode Island Department of Children, Youth and Families (DCYF)
Post-Secondary Tuition Assistance Program

Frequently Asked Questions
(Updated March 17, 2020)

Funds are distributed on an academic year basis.
1. Dol have to do a FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid)?

YES! If you have not finished your FAFSA, we can’t get the information we need to process your
DCYF grant application. NO FAFSA, NO DCYF GRANT! Use this website
http://www.fafsa.ed.gov to fill out your FAFSA — remember it is a free service so don’t let
anyone try to sell you a story that you have to pay for this! If you need help filling it out, you
may want to contact the College Planning Center of Rl at www.cpcri.org for free assistance or
you can let us know and we will get you the help you need.

2. How do | apply for this money?

The only way to apply is through our web-based application (https://riopc.edu/page/dcyf-
application) found on the RI Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner website or on the
DCYF’s website at www.dcyf.ri.gov.

3. Somebody told me that this program is an entitlement — that because | was involved with
DCYF, | can automatically get the money to help with college or a trade school. Is that right?

NO! Like any program, there are rules that say who can get money from this program. We get
the money from two places— the federal (Chafee Educational and training Voucher — ETV) and
the State of Rhode Island (DCYF Higher Education Opportunity Grant) and the rules are a little
different for each.

We only get so much money each year and we try to make sure we reach as many youths as
possible.

4. So, where does this money come from again?

The short answer is from anyone who pays taxes in Rhode Island and in the United States. The
details are:

a. DCYF State Higher Education Opportunity Grant Program: Hats off to former State
Senator Tom Izzo and former State Representative Nancy Benoit for getting this
program started, and to all of the Governors and members of the Legislature who have
supported funding for this program since it was created (see DCYF Higher Education
Opportunity Grant at http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE42/42-
72.8/INDEX.HTM for the details)! DCYF gets $200,000 each year to provide grants to
youth who are eligible based on their time with DCYF (we lay this out in more detail
later) and who are full-time students at the Community College of Rhode Island, Rhode
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Island College or the University of Rhode Island. You can keep getting this grant until
the academic year you turn 21 — however, if you are getting our money at age 21 and
are in good academic standing with your school, you can keep getting the grant until
the academic year you turn 23 (that is, if you stay a full time student at one of these
three schools and keep up your grades).

b. John H. Chafee Education and Training Voucher (ETV) Program: You got it —the ETV
program was created by Congress because of the leadership of the late John H. Chafee,
former Governor and United States Senator for Rhode Island. If you are eligible for the
ETV program (more detail later), you can use it at any program that meets the federal
definition of an “Institution of Higher Education” (basically if your school can give you
other federal student aid such as a Pell grant, then it qualifies). DCYF gets about
$180,000 each year but that amount keeps dropping. Youth must be at least part-time
students and each eligible youth can get no more than $5,000 per academic year for up
to five years or until their 23" birthday (July 15t through June 30 of each academic year-
for example, July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021). You can keep getting this grant until
the year you turn 21 — however, if you are getting our money at age 21 and are in
good academic standing with your school, you can keep getting the grant until the
year you turn 23 (that is, if you stay at least a part-time student at a qualified school
and keep up your grades).

5. lwas told I only have to fill out this DCYF application one time and it covers me for the whole
time I’'m in school. Is that right?

No. You must complete the DCYF Post-Secondary Tuition Assistance Program Application for
each year you are attending school. If you fail to do so, we cannot consider you for funding for
that year.

6. So when | get the money, can | use it for anything | want?

No. You can use this grant only for what your school includes as part of your “Cost of
Attendance”. Each school is a little different with how they decide what to include but it is
usually includes things like room, board, and student fees. A helpful tool in looking at your
school’s cost of attendance is the College Navigator website at
http://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator/.

7. | heard that DCYF won’t make me take out loans for school and will cover any cost not
covered by other grant and/or scholarship programs. Is that true?

No: DCYF uses the following formula to determine a student’s unmet financial need:

Cost of Attendance (as determined by the school) - Private, Federal & State Grants
and Scholarships (including Work/Study) = Unmet Student Need.

We try to cover the highest percentage of this unmet need as possible in order to reduce the
amount of loans a student needs to take out. However, because we have so many more youth taking
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advantage of the DCYF Post-Secondary Tuition Assistance Program, we cannot guarantee a certain

level of funding and we anticipate that all students, regardless of the school they attend, will need to

take out loans.

8. How does DCYF decide if | am eligible for the DCYF Higher Education Opportunity Grant Sub-
Program? Can | use funds from the DCYF Higher Education Opportunity Grant to pay for the
cost of attendance at any school in the country?

This grant sub-program is limited to covering a percentage of the unmet needs at CCRI, RIC or
URI for students who meet the following criteria:

a.

You must have been in DCYF foster care (defined as any out of home care except the
Training School) on or after your (16") birthday and you must have spent at least the
last two years in foster care prior to your closing to DCYF. If you’'ve already turned 18
before your initial application, you must have been in foster care from your 16
birthday to your 18™ birthday. If you were adopted while in DCYF foster care, even if
you were adopted at 17, you are not eligible for this part of our grant program; and
You graduated from high school or received the equivalent of a high school diploma not
more than one year before the date of your initial application or must be expected to
graduate at the end of the semester in which the application is made; and

You are attending one of the following Rhode Island schools on a full-time basis: the
Community College of Rhode Island, Rhode Island College or the University of Rhode
Island; and

Your school must consider you to be in good academic standing for you to keep getting
these funds; and

You must not have reached your 21 birthday when you first apply. If you are in school
and participating in the DCYF Higher Education Opportunity Grant Program on your 21
birthday, (this includes if you turn 21 during the summer break as long as the school
continues to view you as a student), you can remain eligible until your 23" birthday as
long as you meet the other criteria and you stay in school and are considered by the
school to be in good academic standing.

9. How does DCYF decide if | am eligible for the ETV Sub-Program? Can | use the ETV Grant to
pay for the cost of attendance at any school in the country?
Youth eligibility criteria are:

a.

You must have been in foster care (defined as any our of home care excluding the Rl
Training School) for at least one day on or after your 16" birthday and the Department
must have identified you as likely to remain in foster care until age 18 or you have
already aged our of foster care at age 18. If you were adopted form foster care or placed
in a relative guardianship placement after your 16" birthday, you can be considered for
the ETV Program. Youth who were adopted from foster care or placed in relative
guardianship before their 16" birthday are not eligible for this program: and
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b. You must not have reached your 21 birthday, (this includes if you turn 21 during the
summer break as long as the school continues to view you as a student), you can remain
eligible until your 23™ birthday as long as you stay enrolled in a post-secondary
education or training program and are making satisfactory progress toward completion
of that program; and

c. You must be a US Citizen or eligible Non-Citizen (Permanent Resident)

d. You must be attending a school and academic program which meets the definition of an
Institution of Higher education (http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/1001/ )the
definition of an Institution of Higher Education is as follows:

i.  Awards a bachelor’s degree or not less than a 2-year program that provides
credit towards a degree or,
ii. Provides not less than 1 year of training towards gainful employment or,

iii. Is a vocational program that provides training for gainful employment and has
been in existence for at least two years
iv. In addition, the school must meet all three of the following criteria:

1. Admits as a regular students only persons with a high school
diploma or equivalent; or admits as regular students persons who
are beyond the age of compulsory school attendance;

2. Public, Private, or Non-Profit;

3. Accredited or pre accredited and is authorized to operate in that
state.

e. You must be at least part-time student and be eligible to receive ETV funding but the
amount of funds we can give you is still based on your unmet need as defined by the
school. ETV funds are not provided to students who are simply taking classes without
being in enrolled in a degree or certificate program.

10. Does DCYF send the money to me directly?
No. The grant money is issued directly to the student’s school. After the school deducts any
costs which they pay directly, they will usually give the student a check for the remaining
amount (if there is any money left). As with most financial aid programs, the student must use
this money to pay for items related to the cost of attendance such as off-campus meals if the
student lives off campus and is not part of the school’s meal plan, books/supplies off-campus
rent, transportation to and from school, etc. These funds cannot be used to purchase durable
assets (e.g., a car, a laptop) unless that is identified by your school as part of the Cost of
Attendance and/or you receive separate approval from DCYF.

11. What happens if | drop out of college in the middle of the year/semester — do | have to pay
DCYF back?
You must notify DCYF anytime your student status changes so that we can see if we have to
change your funding for that year. As well, if you decide to leave school in the middle of a year
and we haven’t used all the funds we set aside for you, we may be able to use those funds for
other students.
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a. You will need to notify us that you have withdrawn and the date of your withdrawal.
We will work with your school to determine whether or not any refunds are due to
us. If you were given a check from the school to cover expenses not directly
covered by your school, you may have to return funds to the school and/or DCYF.
You will need to discuss your situation with your school’s financial aid office to
determine what funds if any, you need to pay back.

b. For example, if you live off-campus, you may get a check from the school which is
meant to cover your rent while attending that school. If you withdraw before the
end of the semester, you cannot use these funds for rent for the remaining time in
that semester because you are no longer a student.

12. What happens if | don’t get good grades in one semester — can | still get financial aid from
DCYF for the next semester?
a. Both the DCYF Higher Education Opportunity Grant Program and the federal ETV

Program require the student to be in good academic standing. We rely on your
school to make this determination for us. If you are informed by the school that you
are not in good academic standing, you need to notify us immediately. We will look
at your situation and try to work with you to help you get back on track. We want
you to succeed so we may decide to continue your funding immediately as long as

you are working toward improvement.

For more information, contact: Diane Correia, Educational Services Coordinator Rl Department of Children,
Youth and Families at 401-528-3454 or Diane.Correia@dcyf.ri.gov .
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